Welcome! To Diving's Largest Web site.

Home I About Diving I Diving Results I Diving Photos I Links I Coaches Corner I Humor

Diving Ideas

Data Base

DD Table

High School

College Diving

Jr. Diving



Old News


Join our
Mailing List

How to Advertise

Submit a Link

Terms of Use. Disclaimer & Copyrights

2000 -2002 USAdiver.com All Rights Reserved.
Chinese Women Win Synchro
10- meter
Sept. 28 2000 Sydney AUS
by Derek Parr

Chinese win women's synchronised platform gold

China's Li Na and Sang Xue scored an overwhelming victory in the Olympic synchronised diving women's platform event on Thursday.

Li Na and Sang Xue of People Republic of China

Li, silver medallist in the individual highboard final last Sunday, and Sang led through all five rounds of dives to win by 33.09 points from Canada's Emilie Heymans and Anne Montminy, the individual highboard bronze medallist.

Australians Rebecca Gilmore and Loudy Tourky came through strongly to take the bronze, the first Olympic diving medals ever won by Australian women and the first for the country since Dick Eve won the men's plain high diving event in 1924.

Gilmore and Tourky overhauled Austrians Marion Reiff and Anja Richter-Libiseller in the last round of an event contested by eight pairs.

The Chinese duo notched 345.12 points from their five dives, with the Canadians scoring 312.03 and the Australians 301.50.

Emilie Heymons and Anne Montminy of Canada

Synchronised diving has been admitted to the Olympics for the first time. The first two titles both went to Russia — Vera Ilyina and Yulia Pakhalina in the women's three-metre springboard and Igor Lukashin and Dmitry Sautin in the men's platform.

The Russians came away empty-handed in Thursday morning's final, with European silver medallists Yevgenia Olshevskaya and Svetlana Timoshinina finishing sixth, immediately behind Americans Jenny Keim and Laura Wilkinson, the newly-crowned Olympic platform gold medallist.

It was the second Chinese diving gold of the Sydney Games following Xiong Ni's second successive victory in the men's three-metre springboard.

Derek Parr

Pick A Color